Like being in the captain’s chair of the Starship Enterprise

The last of the Frontier Fields â Abell 370, FlickR, Hubble ESA https://www.flickr.com/photos/hubble_esa/33640145204/ used by CC 2.0

The last of the Frontier Fields â Abell 370, FlickR, Hubble ESA
https://www.flickr.com/photos/hubble_esa/33640145204/
used by CC 2.0

By the time that you read this post I will have left my role as Junior Library
Assistant at the Divinity Library, although beyond the end of term I
will be loitering for a few weeks, assisting with the annual stock check
and the reclassification project.

I’ve always felt that sitting at the Divinity Library’s issue desk is like being in the captain’s chair of the Starship Enterprise, surveying the crew (well students) around me, then out to the brave world of learning in Sidgwick Avenue and West Road, and then onto the universe beyond. While not having boldly travelled very far, I have loved my time here, first temping and then staying on as Junior Library Assistant and I will be tremendously sad to leave.

Clemens and Matthew have been so generous and kind from the outset, and I’ve learnt so much while here, thanks to their patience and their enthusiasm for their work. Their dedication to developing and improving the library and to listening to how it can best work for its users has been inspiring. I know I leave the library in good hands! The previous Library Assistants, Jane and Gillian, were encouraging and friendly, helping me to settle in quickly before running off to enjoy the leisure of their well-earned retirements. University staff have been friendly and it has been really touching to see new undergraduates and research students quickly settle in and those getting to graduation making plans for their next challenge. As mentioned in a recent Varsity post, the Divinity Library is a lovely, modern and calm environment. As Violet noted in her review, ‘The design of the library is a dream and the view is wonderful.’ I do agree.

I’ve also been welcomed into the larger Arts & Humanities library community, and been able to take part in away days and even a trip out for a guided tour of the UL – which I would never have found my way around on my own.

Having said all this, I’m not going too far (geographically or intellectually), only 2 minutes up the road to the Philosophy Faculty Library as Library Assistant. I’ll therefore be able to continue to take advantage of the wider joys of working here – walking through Selwyn Gardens, or getting a morning cuppa in the ARC Café.

So much has happened in the wider world since I began here – from the EU referendum, to Trump’s election and a UK general election – that it can feel that years have passed. Still, I’ve had a great time within the
Divinity Library community and perhaps Philosophy will help me make sense of it all.

Amanda Hawkes (former Junior Library Assistant at Divinity Library)

Leave a Reply

